The Drowned World – my Goodreads Review

The Drowned WorldThe Drowned World by J.G. Ballard

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Finished this last night. Mixed feelings about it really. I was intrigued by the premise, global warming leading to flooding and a gradual return to a Triassic Age, not that its a novel idea now, but because this was written before ‘global warming’ was a ‘popular’ concept. Also fascinated by the idea that this reversion in conditions to an earlier time would awake genetic memories of our ancestors within us.

Did the book work? The language did for me. It created a languid feel that mirrored the world it was describing, with a dreamy style. Catch was I often found myself drifting and having to flick back over pages I had read but not taken in. Wasn’t also that hooked by the sub-plot in the centre of the book (I’ll be good and not say what happens).

Not a waste of time. Enjoyable. Could have been much better?

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

