Review: Fragile Things: Short Fictions and Wonders

Fragile Things: Short Fictions and WondersFragile Things: Short Fictions and Wonders by Neil Gaiman

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My third Neil Gaiman book, the first being the fantastic Coraline and the second Neverwhere. A collection of short stories and poems. There are some fantastic treasures in here, may favourites being the opener ‘A Study in Scarlet’, which is a surprising blend of Sherlock Holmes meets HP Lovecraft, Goliath, a short story based on The Matrix, and Sunbird, a wonderful story of culinary legend. There are also some that left me scratching my head thinking I wouldn’t end it that way, or just did nothing for me. Overall, however, I loved it, and the few duds are far outweighed by the gems. Gaiman is the modern myth maker with a magic touch – if I were to write, his stories are the stories that my stories would aspire to be!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

