Review: Anansi Boys

Anansi BoysAnansi Boys by Neil Gaiman

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What would you do if you discovered your dad was a god? This is exactly what happens to Fat Charlie in Anansi Boys…

This book was recommended to me by a friend on Facebook when he heard of my enjoying Neverwhere and Fragile Things, this he said was his favourite. I can see why he enjoyed it so much: a great read, a wonderful blend of urban fantasy, whimsy and world folktales & cultures. Gaiman’s language is easy and his style conversation, meaning that this is a quick read, satisfying nevertheless. Having done a recent thesis on how language works, I also appreciated the way that the power of language and song are touched upon. I enjoy Gaiman’s quirkiness and will certainly be looking out for American Gods of which this is a spin off.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

