Review: The Domino Men

The Domino MenThe Domino Men by Jonathan Barnes
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Henry Lamb, a fairly dull average bloke who works in filing, discovers that his life is not what he thought it was. It would appear that Britain is at war against not another nation, but against its own monarchy, who is in league with, well, you’ll have to read it to find out… Key to sorting out this mess is his Grandad, only he lies in a hospital bed in a coma. Its all his fault!

Not quite sure why I picked this one up at my local library, but glad I did. I found it one of those couldn’t put down reads, finishing it in a week (quite a contrast to my last book, Game of Thrones, which seemed to take forever!)

Found this very Neil Gaimen-esque, which is very much to my taste. Loved the way the plot developed and new characters and threads were woven in. Plenty of twists and surprises. Now I know that this is a sequel of sorts, I shall look out for its predecessor (The Somnambulist) and see if that is anywhere near as good.

Some have said that this book has a great start and then goes downhill. Personally, I didn’t find that to be the case at all. Recommend it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

