Review: The Resurrectionist

The ResurrectionistThe Resurrectionist by James Bradley
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Picked this book up because of its cover which caught my eye (I’m sure there’s a saying about that…) and read it in about a week. Not sure I’d have borrowed it had I worked out that it was about the trade in corpses in London in the 1800s and the murky underworld that surrounded those who were involved in this line of work.

The author did a great job in setting the tone. The writing style was very moody and atmospheric. His tendency to not always name particular characters, but simply say things like ‘and then he was there in front of me’ was arresting, if occasionally confusing. No mean feat to write it in first person either.

Did I enjoy it though? Compelling yes, but somehow unsatisfying at the same time. Personally, although the style and tone of the book succeeded, I felt the plot was lacking clarity and punch.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

