Review: The Passage

The PassageThe Passage by Justin Cronin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is not a book I would have normally picked up to read. I don’t tend to frequent the horror section at the library and would generally avoid like the plague any ‘vampire’ theme books – I am not the demographic that the Twilight Saga et al are aiming at! But this was recommended to me by a friend who’s suggestions have always proved worth reading and as usual he did not let me down!

So, what’s this book about? Will try and tread carefully here so as to avoid spoilers (now I sound like River Song from Doctor Who). I think I can get away with saying that this becomes a post-apocalyptic survival book, but with vampires rather than zombies or nuclear fall out. The ‘main’ character is Amy, a young child. I say ‘main’ because although she isn’t the focal character, the story clearly revolves around her and the mystery of who she is. There are other characters and themes that take centre stage, but she is the heart of the novel.

This book doesn’t pretend to be a literary masterpiece, but instead a no-holes barred thriller, and I would say on the main it achieves this very well – it certainly had my attention and I shall be looking out for the sequels. Occasionally I did find myself wandering and wondering how on earth there could be so many pages left, but this was a rare occurrence. I can’t quite see how there will be another two books (I heard it was to be part of a trilogy) but there have been enough twists and new stories and ideas in this first installment, that I expect there will be plenty to get our teeth into (please forgive the bad pun…)

Amy is special. Her book ain’t that bad either!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

