Review: How (Not) to Speak of God: Marks of the Emerging Church

How (Not) to Speak of God: Marks of the Emerging ChurchHow (Not) to Speak of God: Marks of the Emerging Church by Peter Rollins
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A thought provoking book. I’ve quite taken to Peter Rollins recently. I appreciate his ability to tell a great story, to tell old parables in new ways that reveal the original meaning freshly, or even to construct new parables to go away and mull over. He has made me think deeply about what I believe and how I believe.

This book comes in two parts. The opening section explores the (un)knowability of God (can’t recall if he used that exact phrase). We can know God in that he has revealed himself to us, but at the same we cannot truly comprehend or understand him as our knowledge is bounded and coloured by our finiteness, our prejudices, the restrictions of language and our experiences. Alongside this challenge to our habitual thinking that we’ve got God wrapped up, Rollins also challenges us to rethink belief. He says it is less important to believe the right things (because of the above) but more important to believe in the right way; such a way that is transformational.

The second section of the book explores services that the church community Ikon have explored these concepts. Although I wouldn’t want to simply lift these for my own setting, I found the reading of them to be stimulating, and I suspect will spur me on in the pursuit of creativity in worship.

This was a great read. A bit wordy perhaps at times – but this is inevitable with the subject matter that he is dealing with. Recommended.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: How (Not) to Speak of God: Marks of the Emerging Church

  1. Thanks for bringing this book to my attention. Sounds like it’s right in my spiritual “lane” at the moment. I think I’ll add it to my queue (so to speak).

Leave a Reply

