Review: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, #1)The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

What a fantastic book that was! Finished it within a week, not because it is short or easy going, but simply because I couldn’t put it down. Totally hooked from the beginning to the end.

I’m not going to say much about the content of the book because of spoilers. Be warned though, it does deal with some dark themes and emotional content.

The craft of the author was outstanding I felt. The book weaves together a number of different stories and holds together a family like none that I’ve come across outside my usual favoured genres of fantasy and sci-fi. Complex and …. (fill in after you’ve read it). The different characters are compelling.

Highlight? I loved the start of the book – the story about the flowers immediately grabbed my attention. I wondered then after the next couple of chapters who these three sections tied together.

It soon settles down into a more standard thriller, but a complex and demanding one.

I wouldn’t have picked this up if it wasn’t for my wife recommending it to me (nor would she if it wasn’t for a similar recommendation). I’m glad I did. Will definitely be reading the next two books (if you’re not into sequels, don’t worry, you can read this and leave it there).

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

