Review: Neverwhere

Neverwhere
Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

An absolutely brilliant book – my favourite of Neil Gaiman’s. This is the story of the tribulations of Richard Mayhew, London businessman who, after an act of kindness, finds himself finding a side to London he had never seen before.

There are many things I loved about this book. The basic plot was in and of itself good, but for me it was the wonderfully whimsical characters that Gaiman created and the playful nature of London Below that won me over. A few chapters in and I was joining in this creative game, coming up with other possible denizens of this magnificent world.

Not all is pure fun. There is a serious side to the novel as well, as Gaiman explores what it means to be homeless,to fall through the cracks of society. A thought provoking dimension to this work. It also leaves you pondering several times as to what is really happening. In many ways I found this to be reminiscent of the Robin Williams / Terry Gilliam film ‘The Fisher King’.

This was the first Neil Gaiman book I read, and it was a pleasure to reread it. Definitely recommended!

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review: Neverwhere

  1. This was my first Gaiman book too, and still one of my favorites! Croup and Vandemar are easily my favorite villain duo. Have you seen the BBC miniseries? The effects are super-cheesy, but because Gaiman wrote the novel after writing the series, instead of before, the casting is spot-on.

    1. One of my special books, which can be re-read again and again. have you tried Un Lun Dun? Again, another different London. Julian.

    2. I’ve not seen the series yet, although there is to be a special 15 year anniversary DVD I understand. Will consider grabbing a copy on release. And yes, Messers Croup & Vandemar are horribly wonderful!

Leave a Reply

