Review: Labyrinth

Labyrinth
Labyrinth by Kate Mosse
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I didn’t know what to expect when I picked up a copy of this book – I knew nothing about it except that it was popular and had an intriguing title. When I looked closer at the cover and saw that it was about ‘Three secrets. Two women. One Grail.’ I winced – too often novels about the Grail are simply ‘New Age’ conspiracies and not very good ones at that. Still, decided to give it a try. Glad I did! Yes there is a Grail Conspiracy here, and plenty of heresy to boot (which it doesn’t claim as real world truth, so I can live with that), but there is also a gripping story, set it Carcassone both today and in its Occitan past. This is a place and era I know little about, and just as the Swedish in The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo gave that book a particular feel, so to the smatterings of French and Occitan, and the place names a very evocative descriptions did the same here. I found myself drawn in quickly and read with enthusiasm. I will almost certainly go away and read up a little more about the place and time that this book describes. Personally I found the end a little unsatisfactory, but to be honest, that didn’t matter too much, as the journey there was a good one, and often the journey is the thing, rather than the destination. I’d happily recommend it, and will look out for other books by Kate Mosse in the future.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Labyrinth

Leave a Reply

