Review: Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy by John le Carré

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Haven’t time for a proper review, but here’s a quick one for now.

Picked up a second hand copy of this after seeing the trailers for the new film and spotting it in a book sale. The film has quite a cast and grabbed my interest, which added to the memories of the TV series from my childhood (aware of it in the background rather than watched) made this one I wanted to read.

I suspect having seen the trailer didn’t help, it gave away the core feature of the plot, which isn’t really explicitly revealed I think until much later in the book. This left me looking for it as I read and getting confused as I didn’t see it there.

I really wanted to enjoy this, but I must confess much of the time I was left puzzled by where it was going and how it fitted together and what it was really about. I think I shall at some point go back and read it again when I can put a more concerted effort into reading it in bigger chunks.

And so 3/5 stars – I suspect its worth more, and I did enjoy it, but for the first half didn’t really get it, and so can’t give it more. Maybe once I’ve read it again I shall rate it higher.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

