Review: Once and for All: A Confession of the Cross


Once and for All: A Confession of the Cross by Tom Smail
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book was recommended to me a while ago by a friend when I mentioned that I was struggling to reshape my understanding of Christ’s death and resurrection after a period of becoming dissatisfied with the theology of the atonement that was prevalent in the circles I had grown up in as a Christian. Somehow the popular expression of penal substitution didn’t fit the radical love and vision of Christ that I encountered in the Gospels. Small’s ‘Once and for All’ manages to hold together the seriousness of sin and Christ’s sacrificial love and creation embracing vision in a way which much better fits my understanding of Jesus as well as cohering with Scripture. This is a well written and easy to work through, whilst being profound in its reach. Recommended to all who want to think carefully about this topic.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

