Review: The Prisoner

The Prisoner
The Prisoner by Thomas M. Disch
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Like others, I picked up this book wondering if the original TV series was based on it (the library sticker covering the notes didn’t help on this score) only to discover it was the other way around. Not having seen the series, only the more recent re-imaging, I can’t compare the two.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. I found it bewildering at times, confusing and puzzling. I still have more questions than answers, but that I’m sure is the point. The writing style is engaging and immediate. I have to confess that over the first chapter I turned to my dictionary more times than I have over the last year, but this did not distract from the experience, only make it more otherworldly. I can see how the original series was such a cult hit!

I am not a number. I am a free man. I think…

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

