Review: The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch

The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch
The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch by Philip K. Dick
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I had no idea what to expect from this book when I picked it up; the enigmatic title giving away little. Having read a number of Philip K. Dick books before I knew it would be worth the effort. So how was it? Compelling? Certainly. Confusing? Most definitely! Worth the effort? Yes, without a doubt. What happened? To be honest, I’m not entirely sure! This book of future life under the influence of perception changing drugs and virtual realities whilst in a frontier setting is the kind of story I hoped that the film Inception might be, if only it could have explored the ideas further without resorting to dramatically shot violence to hold the audience. Often you find yourself asking if what you’re reading is the truth or an illusion and pondering what is the essential nature of reality anyway. There emerges an theological aspect to about the nature of ‘god’ and the nature of humanity; I’ll have to think further about what he’s trying to say here. All in all, it’s either brilliant or simply confusing. I think I’ll plumb for brilliant.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

