Review: Mr. Toppit

Mr. Toppit
Mr. Toppit by Charles Elton
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was really intrigued when I picked this book up and read the synopsis on the back. Children’s fantasy author dies just as the mysterious and sinister Mr Toppit, the ‘bogey-man’ of his fantasy series finally appears. This leaves all sorts of unanswered questions about who he is and what he would have done next. The books move from obscurity to fame, plunging the family into to limelight, especially his son on whom the main child in the books is losely based.

In the end I was left disappointed. I enjoyed the read, but it didn’t prove to be the book I’d hoped it would be. I wanted a novel that explored Mr Toppit and the family with a blurring of the lines between reality and the fantasy of the book. Instead I got a book that explored the impact of sudden fame with its pressures and hangers-on and mourning. Whilst this was a good read, I felt robbed when it didn’t tell the tale I hoped it would.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

