Review: Homosexuality in the Church

Homosexuality in the Church
Homosexuality in the Church by Jeffrey S. Siker
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I ordered this book in order to broaden my understanding of the issues involved in this debate and to hear from voices from either side of the debate (or more accuarately many sides of the debate as it isn’t a simple polarised discussion as maybe the more strident voices of the extremes might suggest). I have always found it helpful to listen to those I disagree with as well as those I agree with in forming and shaping my thinking.

This is a relatively slim tomb and yet it packs in a substantial amount of detail, reflecting on Scripture, tradition, moral reasoning, scientific reasoning, experience and decision making. Each section presents views from those of different opinion. Different denominational voices are also presented. It would have been good to have heard from a wider geographical basis too – this is very much a North American discussion – but that would create a much more unwieldy book.

Each contribution is followed by a number of questions for reflection, which help process the information that you’ve just read.

The language is out of necessity complex and technical. A glossary might be a useful addition, if difficult to produce.

I found this to be a very helpful book which has given me much to ponder as I seek to develop my understanding in an informed and nuanced way. I recommend it to anyone prepared to grapple with the language and detail. It doesn’t tell you what to believe, but highlights clearly the issues concerned and different approaches to them.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

