Back to the Book

Back in November I took part in NaNoWriMo and wrote over 50,000 words of a novel set in Sierra Leone, ‘The Roar of the Lion‘. It started off thinking it was going to be a sci-fi novel but quickly became something completely different. It was a highly enjoyable process, and one I shall certainly do again. The story, however, proved to be much larger than the 50,000 words would accommodate, in fact it might only be half way through, and has since sat languishing on my desktop waiting for me to find some time to devote to it. Christmas got in the way, and I lost the habit of regular writing that NaNoWriMo encouraged. The New Year proved to be a busy one, fairly continually until just now when the last of the big projects for the year, The BIGPicnic, has just gone. Now at last I am determined to get back to it and see if I can knock it into shape, setting aside some time each day this month. Target: 500 words a day. Not as many as during NaNoWriMo where I was aiming for 1,500, but possibly more realistic for this month with some editing included.

Word count: 50135 total at the start of the day

Leave a Reply

