NaNoWriMo 2013 – to write or not to write….

Last year I took part in National Novel Writing Month – the challenge of producing in November 50,000 words of original fiction. It was a fantastic month, I thoroughly enjoyed the whole process, although it was demanding in time and creativity. I reached the target of 50,000 but failed to finish the book! My plan was to press on with it after Christmas – in my line of work December is not a time for extra work, there is more than enough to fill my time – but alas I never got back into the swing of it. This year, I wasn’t sure about doing NaNoWriMo again. To be honest, I paid for it in the Christmas run up last year, having not given that enough of my creative attention. But it was so much fun, that I was tempted… I found myself wondering, if I were to do it again, which I wasn’t, what would I do? A new story? If so what? Or pick up the old and press on. Simply thinking about the old again has led me to pick up the keyboard and start typing once more. I’ve entered my details in NaNoWriMo again and we’ll see what happens. I must remember though, wherever it takes me, not to lose sight of the rest of life at the same time!

If anyone’s interested in seeing what I’m up to, NaNoWriMo’s website is: nanowrimo.org and my personal page is: nanowrimo.org/participants/ben-quant. There’s also a word count tracker on the left hand side of this blog too.

Leave a Reply

