Review: How God Became King: Getting to the Heart of the Gospels

How God Became King: Getting to the Heart of the Gospels
How God Became King: Getting to the Heart of the Gospels by Tom Wright
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

What a fantastic book! I’m at risk of becoming an NT Wright fanboy here but every time I read one of his works I find he changes the way I see the message of the Bible. In the case of this work he argues convincingly that in the West we have forgotten one of the central themes of the Bible, that of God’s promised King and kingdom, rooted in the Old Testament and fulfilled in Jesus the Christ/Messiah. Reading this at the same time as reading through Mark’s Gospel I am finding in Mark passage after passage that takes on a new light in relation to what he has written here. A weakness of the book for me is his constant reference to the creeds, but this is simply due to the non-liturgical nature of my church tradition in comparison to his, not really a weakness at all. As always, recommended.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: How God Became King: Getting to the Heart of the Gospels

    1. Worth a second shot at I’d say. It does sometimes feel like he’s saying the same thing again and again, but I think he’s gradually building up his argument to make his case, which I’d say he succeeds in admirably! Not a long read and a good point in the year (Lent) in which to read it. Would be interested in knowing what you think.

Leave a Reply

