Review: The Merry Wives of Windsor

The Merry Wives of Windsor
The Merry Wives of Windsor by William Shakespeare
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Read this as part of a FutureLearn.net course on Shakespeare and his world. I’ll be honest and say that if it wasn’t for the course material I don’t think I’d have followed it first time around! Sure I still missed a few subplots along the way. Will have to come back to it and read it again. It was a fun read made all the more interesting for learning of the classical references made by the Bard in it. Rating? Think I can only give it 3/5 at the moment. It’s a fairly straightforward, fun, slapstick story of comeuppance for the ‘bad guy’. That said, if I read it again and understand more the rating might of course increase!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

