Review: Antony and Cleopatra

Antony and Cleopatra
Antony and Cleopatra by William Shakespeare
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Quick review as not much time today. This is the latest in my reads for the #FLShakespeare course, and maybe one of my least favourites so far. I was able to follow the story fine and appreciated some wonderful poetry on the way – the image of even the air rushing out to meet Cleopatra and leaving behind a vacuum, such was her grace and beauty, one of the notable examples. That said, I found the plot a little predictable, following a not so different course to many of the Bards other tragedies – boy meets girl whom he shouldn’t love, they fall in love, one dies because of it and the other commits suicide. That said, I suspect if I’d read it earlier on in the course, perhaps I would have been struck more by it!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

