Decision Day

It’s almost time to vote in what is being described as one of the most important political decisions that we face as a country in a lifetime. Do we stay in the European Union or do we leave? Have you made up your mind yet? I have, although I’m going to refrain from commenting on my choice here – you’ll have to ask me if you’re interested, I’ll happily talk about it as long as you’re willing to share your views with me too.

I’m hoping you’re still reading. I fear you may not be as you’ve seen that this is a political piece and turned off. There are those who believe that politics and religion shouldn’t mix, indeed I got harangued by a member of the crowd after one Good Friday talk I did in Hoddesdon which touched on this very issue. To me, I can’t see how they can’t mix, after all our faith is not just about where we go when we die, it’s very much about how we live with and relate to each other both as Christians and with the world at large now. That to me is the very definition of politics. Love one another – that’s a political statement in my book! But this is not the reason I fear you’ll have switched off. The reason I fear you’ve switched off is because you’re sick of the debate, or rather the manner of the debate. I know I am. I’ve had enough of innuendo, name calling and besmirching. I’ve had enough of the bad or disingenuous use of statistics. I’ve had enough of scare tactics and political broadcasts that treat us as if we are three year olds. I get that no one knows for sure what lies ahead, and that all we have are opinions based on experience etc. that’s fine. All I want is to hear some non-sensationalised constructive reasons for why we should either remain or leave, so that I can think through for myself what my opinion is. That’s not too much to ask for is it? Short of one or two notable exceptions, I’ve heard very few examples of this.

But why am I putting this in the church newsletter? It’s not just to get that rant of my chest, although it does feel better to have done so. No, it’s because I believe God calls us to engage with politics and to do what we can to make this a fairer, more loving and less oppressive world. It’s also because I think we can learn from this referendum; after all we have our own campaigning to take care of too: do you want to be in or out of God’s Kingdom. This ultimately is what mission is all about. But it’s not just the question that is important, it’s how we ask it, and how we make our case. I hope we can do it better than both sides have done in the Referendum campaign so far.

Church newsletter 19.06.16

Leave a Reply

